Podcasting fears unfounded

//embeds.audioboom.com/posts/5680244-journalist-on-a-journey-the-lone-nut/embed/v4?eid=AQAAAOcyvlh0rFYA

Check out my first podcast above but before you do, let’s get one thing straight from the start… I do not have a voice meant for radio.

With that being said my concerns about this assignment turned out to be largely insignificant.

To be honest, I have not had my students do anything with audio other than record and transcribe interviews – in large part because it wasn’t something I was comfortable with myself.

However as it turned out, the hardest part of this assignment was truly determining what to write about, because many of my own students do, I procrastinated making that determination as long as possible. Once the script was written the actual recording process was pretty easy.

I had set up and Audioboom account earlier in the week and downloaded the app to my phone this weekend so I could play around with the recording and text the levels. Since this assignment asked us to abstain from editing,  I had to restart about three times before I got a solid take all the way through.

Listening to myself is not something I enjoy (as I noted above) and I definitely noticed some areas that need work. For example still sound a too scripted for my taste and I need to slow my rate of speaking.

However, this experience showed me how relatively easy it would be to incorporate a lesson on producing audio/podcasts in to my 21st Century Journalism class as well as the value of having students use audio packages for the newspaper’s website and even perhaps to accompany the photo slides shows (and maybe one day videos) that yearbook staff have produced using the Aurasma app.

While I know there may be some backlash from students who like me are often afraid of the unknown, in the spirit of my podcast and the video that partially inspired it I will remember that it only takes one follower to transform the lone nut into a leader.

Video courtesy of  Derek Sivers  

Leave a Reply

