Radio interviews challenge adviser

 

In my last post related to podcasting, I wrote of unfounded fears. This week I’m eating my words.

To be fair however, most of what made made this assignment challenging was a result of my actions and not some fault of the instruction or assignment. Just like my some of my students, I had good intentions but I let procrastination and other responsibilities take over.

The biggest issue I had with the interview itself. Because I waited till the end of the two week time span allotted for the assignment,  I had to record my interview in one shot. As I was listening to myself, I noticed I filler words such as “um” frequently in my questions. I didn’t want to write my specific questions out as in my last podcast I felt I did not sound natural; however, I think I should have done one or two trial runs prior to recording to work on any kinks getting thoughts from my brain to my mouth.

I did tell my guests the general outline of the questions in advance in hopes they could provide more thoughtful answers. I feel this went well; however, they too did not speak as smoothly as I would have liked and editing out stumbles in the middle of sentences proved cumbersome. I ultimately decided – in most cases as at least – to leave the full responses rather than have choppy cuts.

The last issue that I had was recording my intro and conclusion in a separate environment than the actual interview. The ambient sound and volume of my voice was different than the interview itself. If I was to do it over I would ensure I recorded the entirety of the speaking sections in the same manner.

Though this assignment proved more challenging that I had anticipated, it also opened my eyes to the idea that using multimedia – or more specifically teaching it to my students – is not unattainable. This type of assignment could be easily incorporated in my introduction course as students already record they’re interviews for accuracy purposes.

In the future I would like to encourage my newspaper students to try creating podcasts that profile students, teachers, community members, etc. in the manner such as StoryCorp. and I think a Q & A style podcast such as the one I did could be an easy stepping stone for them on the journey to incorporating more than text on our website.

Leave a Reply

